how to remove your contacts from Facebook

Recently, there was a massive Facebook data scandal. Facebook uploaded the contacts of 1.5 million people without their knowledge. Before that, Facebook offered its new users to verify their email accounts and upload all contacts connected with those emails. This had to be done to make friend recommendations on Facebook.

Tracking Facebook Messages Is Now Possible!

Find out this way through the link

In 2016, Facebook claimed they turned off this feature and disabled the automatic contact upload. But the truth is that the automatic upload of the users’ contacts was not removed, only the text warning about it was. 

How to Remove Contacts from Facebook?

Contact syncing is a default feature of all Facebook apps, including Facebook itself, Facebook Lite, Messenger, or Messenger Lite. So, every time a new user installs one of these apps, their contacts automatically upload on Facebook.

Facebook promised to delete the contact info of the affected users. However, you don’t have to wait for the company to take action. You can remove your contacts yourself.

To start with, you need to check if Facebook has any of your contacts. Go to the Manage Your Contacts settings. You have to be logged in to the app when you use the link. After that, click Delete All, and Facebook will remove all your synced contacts.

How to Delete Contacts on Facebook Mobile App?

The method described above is convenient, but it won’t delete any data stored on your smartphone with any Facebook app installed. So, you need to take the following steps:

  1. Sign in to Facebook.com. 
  2. Go to the contact management page
  3. Review and remove any contact that Facebook has already uploaded.

If you are using the Facebook iOS app, here is what you need to next: 

  1. Go to Settings & Privacy > Settings > Media and Contacts > Upload Contacts. 
  2. Turn off the setting Contacts Upload.

If you are using an Android device, your next steps will be:

  1. Open the menu tab. 
  2. Go to Settings & Privacy > Settings > Media and Contacts section > Media and Contacts.
  3. Click Delete All.

Conclusion

As you see, it’s easy to check and remove all the contacts uploaded by Facebook. Do not forget to check the permissions you gave to any Facebook app installed on your smartphone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hurry up!
00 Days
00 Hrs
00 Mins
00 Secs
Expired
How about a Halloween treat? No tricking. Rly scary discount!
31% DISCOUNT!